Skip to Content Skip to Menu

Memory Exhausted error

• chawbs
  • chawbs
12 years 10 months ago #182365 by chawbs
Memory Exhausted error was created by chawbs
Hi Community
I am relatively new at using CB so have a lot to learn still... I am setting up a site which includes:
Joomla 1.7.2 on Ubuntu 10.4
PHP 5.3.2
MySQL 5.1.41
Apache 2.2.14
CB 1.7 upgraded to CB 1.7.1

Since upgrading I am able to view com_profiler page and most of tools page, everything else gives me 500 error which I traced back to memory exhausted after checking logs/switching on debug etc.
I changed php.ini to serve up 256Mb (even 512Mb) instead of 128Mb but that has not helped. The error is reported as happening in .../com_comprofiler/library/cb/cb.acl.php on line 449.
Inside "get_group_parent_ids" function, inside (checkJversion() >= 2) logic...
Can anyone give me suggestions as to where to add more debugging to find out why it seems to dig a very big hole for itself?
Regards

-DJ

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• nant
  • nant
12 years 10 months ago #182376 by nant
Replied by nant on topic Re: Memory Exhausted error
read FAQ articles and Tutorials in the Support section

• chawbs
  • chawbs
12 years 10 months ago #182380 by chawbs
Replied by chawbs on topic Re: Memory Exhausted error
Are you suggesting that a basic CB installation will require more than 1Gb of memory for PHP process???
I have changed the PHP settings as stated in my OP, including restarting/reloading apache to make sure it takes effect, even tried changing to 1G and it still falls over - feels very much like a loop somewhere and I don't know where to start checking in the code. I was hoping for some kind comments as to what the ACL does when it is looking up details at this point in the code...
I have defined approx 10 groups most of which were still empty as my userbase on the site is only 3...

• nant
  • nant
12 years 10 months ago #182389 by nant