Skip to Content Skip to Menu

Ajax validation on custom field

• llau
  • llau
9 years 8 months ago - 9 years 8 months ago #257128 by llau
Ajax validation on custom field was created by llau
Hi there,

I have created a custom text field "Organization Name" on the registration form and I need this value to be validated against the database by checking to see if there is already an existing value. The requirement is that no registered members should have the same organization name entered in this text field. If there is, then it should prevent the user from registering, like the way the username field gets validated after entering the name on the CB registration form.

It doesn't look like it's possible to use the "Field entry validation" for this kind of validation, or is there something else that I can use? I'm not a professional member yet, but would either the "CB DB Lookup Field" or the "CB Query Field" plugin meet my requirements?

Better yet, is there a default lookup field that one can enable to a custom field on their registration form?

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance. :)
V
Last edit: 9 years 8 months ago by llau. Reason: additional information

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• llau
  • llau
9 years 8 months ago #257252 by llau
Replied by llau on topic Ajax validation on custom field
I've tried the CB mysqlfield field, but it's not ajax based so it doesn't really work for me.
Would the CB Ajax Text Field plugin work, and can we use it on an existing custom field?

Thanks,
V

• nant
  • nant
9 years 8 months ago #257273 by nant
Replied by nant on topic Ajax validation on custom field

llau wrote: Hi there,